Michael's Metaphors of Life Journal header image 3

Hunting Muskie: Rites of Passage – A Short Story Collection

I am driven as a writer by the moments when life becomes a search to find our way back home after unexpected storms knock us off course. This collection of 16 stories reflects that deep urge to return to where we feel at peace. The title story, Hunting Muskie, sets the tone – the hunt to find and subdue an unseen foe. The stores that follow elaborate on that theme.

Hunter is haunted by the mistake that defined his life. A chance encounter sets Edward on a search for answers. An act of bullying committed decades ago brings a day of reckoning for Quentin. Will must pay the ransom of conscience. A shocking event causes Laurel to fall victim to a temptation she cannot rationalize. Huck shuts out the loss he cannot face until he can deny it no longer. Malcolm seeks atonement for a desperate act committed in the name of love.

The collection concludes with a longer piece, Slipstream, which ties together the connecting threads – the powerful forces that derail us, how we are driven to search for answers and the harsh truth that redemption often comes at a price.

Stories in the collection:

Hunting Muskie


Dancing With Ghosts

Winter Solstice

5 Iron

Ransom Heart

The Thing With Feathers

Scars of Humanity

God’s Honest Truth

Saint Jude

The Blank Deed

The Reckoning


Hurricane Ike

Five for Luck

Hunting Muskie

Flights of Deliverance

October 2017

ISBN 978-1-927882-22-1

Blue Denim Press